top of page

Extra Thin Slouch Pom-Pom Beanie


If you haven't guessed already, I LOVE ribbed crochet! Something about it just screams "winter" to me. It's my favorite stitch style for all of my winter pieces, probably because it reminds me of warm winter sweaters! It has a really cozy look to it, doesn't it?

This hat was a bit of an experiment, I've never made anything out of such thin yarn before, but I really love how it turned out! I used Loops & Threads Woolike in beige. It's a super fine yarn, so it kind of took a long time to make. The end result was definitely worth it, though!

I used a 3.5mm hook, and half-double crochet stitch working in the back loops only. I originally wanted it to be a fold-over beanie at the end, but since it was so thin it didn't really look right folded up. So the extra length made it into a slouchy hat, which looks really cute, so I was ok with it!

This is my absolute favorite way to make hats! Rather than working in the round, crochet a large rectangle and then gather at the top and whip stitch all the way down. It creates a really cute bunched up area at the top, and looks more feminine in my opinion.

Materials:

  • One skein of Loops & Threads Woolike in beige

  • 3.5mm crochet hook

  • scissors

  • yarn needle

Pattern:

Begin by chaining (200) or until you've reached the desired HEIGHT of your hat. Mine reached 11 inches to achieve the "slouchy" look

Chain 2, and turn your work

Rows 1-70:

Half-double Crochet in third chain from the hook. Continue to half-double crochet in the back loops only to achieve ribbed look. End result should wrap around head snuggly. Mine was about 18 inches--adjust for head size

Fasten off end and cut yarn very long

Use yarn needle to thread yarn through the ends of the rows at the top of the hat, then pull tight to gather up into a circle.

Join with other end to create full circle, and then begin whip stitch down length of hat

Here is a great video by Moogly on how to do the whip stitch

Finally, fasten off and weave in the end. Now you are ready to make your pom pom!

Pom Pom:

Click Here for a great video explaining the method to make a pom pom using your hand, which I always use. Make sure to keep the tails of your pom pom long so that you can weave it into your hat.

Use your yarn needle with the pom pom threaded through to weave in and out of your hat, attaching the pom pom to the top. When I trimmed my pom pom I kept the strands a little long to give it a messier look, which I love! Now you're ready chilly, end of winter day...

Happy Crocheting :)


bottom of page